top of page

How to get Your License To Carry (LTC) in Massachusetts

Obtaining your LTC in Massachusetts may be a bit more involved than in other states. However, with the proper guidance, you can get your license in no time. Use this step-by-step guide to learn how to obtain your License to Carry in the Bay State.  It is also worth noting that the process to obtain an FID is more or less identical to the process of obtaining an LTC, the only difference being the age requirements.  If you concerned of a potential denial of your LTC application.  Check out our article:  Reasons Massachusetts Might Deny you an LTC.

Step 1 : Safety Course

The first step is to complete an approved firearms safety course. The course must be taught by a qualified instructor and include at least four hours of instruction in the safe handling and storage of firearms and ammunition, firearms laws, and the legal and moral responsibilities of owning a firearm. You will need to bring a copy of your certificate of completion to the licensing authority.  You should be able to easily find a safety course in your area by searching something like "Firearms Safety Course Near Me" into a Google search.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Step 2 : Fill application

The second step is to apply for your LTC, start by downloading the application from your local police department's website or the Massachusetts State Police. The application will require you to provide your name, address, and other identifying information. Every township may have a slightly different process for submitting the application - check the website of your township for details, or call your local police department for assistance. A $100 fee (or slightly more, depending on the police department) must be paid by check or money order.

 

Step 3 : Fingerprinting

The next step in the application process is to be fingerprinted. We recommend that you call your local police department and ask if they provide fingerprinting services. If so, it is likely that they will ask you to set up an appointment where you can simultaneously get fingerprinted and submit your Firearms Safety Certification at the same time.

Step 4 : Submit your Application

The fourth step is to submit your application. Once you have completed the application process, you must submit your application to the licensing authority.  This may be done at the same time as you get fingerprinted and present your firearms safety course certificate.  Make sure to call your local police department to verify their process.

Step 5: Wait....

Once your application is submitted, you could expect a 1 - 3 month wait to receive your license.  The wait time is heavily dependant on how backed up licensing authorities are on applications.  License applicants also have the ability to check on the status of their LTC using the  Firearms License Application Status Hotline.  their phone number is (617) 660-4722.

ltc-fid-tn.jpg
maxresdefault-1.jpg

Call us if you have any questions !

At Bay State Surplus, we are unable to provide legal advice. Nevertheless, we are happy to answer any questions you may have about obtaining an LTC. Additionally, we offer transfer services that will allow you obtain a firearm from any state in the US, as well as a wide selection of firearms for you to choose from. If you have any inquiries, please do not hesitate to reach out.

Email: BayStateSurplus@gmail.com

Phone: (781) 361-3771